Any business involved in the profession of business finance is eligible to enter: banks, VC houses, insurers and other relevant finance providers, fintech specialists, UK and overseas business credit and corporate finance companies, independent consultants and agencies, or in-house departments of companies. Eligibility is as broad as the profession itself.

There are 19 categories to enter and win, plus one Prix d’Honneur, which is decided by the judges from the category winners. If you are in any doubt, please call the Awards office for guidance.


Sector categories

For finance deals of any size completed during the eligibility period. The judges will take sector considerations into account, but will also look to see if sustainability is factored into the deals in each of the following sectors:

A1. Construction and Property
A2. Energy and Utilities
A3. Health & Pharmaceutical
A4. Leisure & Sport
A5. Manufacturing and Process Industries
A6. Retail and Service Industries
A7. Science and Technology
A8. Transport and Automotive


Innovation categories

B1. Innovation in SME Finance
B2. Innovation in Technology for Finance
B3. Innovation in Foreign Exchange Services
B4. Innovation in Dealmaking
B5. Innovation in MBO Finance
B6. Innovation in M&A Finance
B7. Innovation in Start-up Finance


Expertise categories

C1. Advisers of the Year
C2. International Specialist of the Year
C3. Legal Practice of the Year
C4. Lender of the Year


Prix d’Honneur

Presented to the company or deal that the judges believe represents the very best in finance for business.

Entries open: July 1

Entries close: October 31

Time pressures for preparing good entries can be tough. If you need a helping hand writing your awards submissions contact Boost Awards. They are the first and largest experts in preparing awards entries and act completely independently.

There is no financial relationship between the Business Finance Awards and Boost. Any advice you receive from Boost Awards is confidential, impartial and independent and the company operates worldwide.